Some think that politicians should always be honest while others feel that there are times when they must lie. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

While some people believe that political leaders should be true to society at all times, whereas others claim that they must lie at certain times. In my opinion, I believe that they should stay honest considering the trust that people have in them and the responsibility they hold to protect their civilians. This essay will discuss both views and share my opinion in detail with relevant examples. On the one hand, some people believe that politicians should be honest. This is mainly because the majority of the decisions are influenced by such government officials considering the well-being of people, so they should be trustworthy rather than manipulators. In addition, people have their belief that they protect the best interests of citizens in addressing national or social issues. If they suspect that they are lying, such behaviour would never be tolerated and create significant impacts on society. As a result, people will never believe anything they ever convey regardless of the significance. On the other hand, some people argue that it is acceptable to lie at some times. In other words, if there is a situation that compels them to hide the truth for the benefit of people and the community it is considered acceptable. However, such opportunities should not inculcate the habit of lying because the role they are serving is incredibly important to maintain order in society. For example, in India, people lose their belief in political officials because they never satisfy their promises to people. To conclude, in my opinion, it's better to stay true to the nation regardless of situations to hold the trust of people because if it is lost it can never be gained which will impact the political stability. As a result, such leaders will never be a leader again.