Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity. However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects. Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its increase in popularity have on individuals and on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today's world, shopping, as a leisure activity, is becoming more and more popular among the society. Despite this case, it is believed by some part of the population that this development has both merits and demerits which, in turn, will be discussed in this essay. To begin with, on the one hand, the main reason why shopping has become so popular is that the modern generation has a predisposition to changes and can not live in a stable world. This is because of the fact that not only do humans, nowadays, have completely different views on life and, overall, on our existence but also they may feel depressed if no changes occur and everything remains the same. As a result, if customers have a variety of choice in the commercial centres they are likely to spend a considerable amount of time just choosing new clothes in order to diversify their routine. For instance, some scientists suggest that, in comparison to the past generation, today's people have become addicted to the changeable world and to be satisfied they are trying to alter something by purchasing new stuff. However, on the other hand, this tendency has a harmful influence on an individual, namely it decreases their sense of value that leads to the fact that consumers become insatiable. The main reason for this might be the case that not only did people get used to having a chance to acquire whatever they want but also they have forgotten how much efforts are being put into the production process of these goods or services. Furthermore, if humans continue to purchase more and more of things they will have to throw away some previously bought stuff and, consequently, the number of dumps in the majority of countries will increase significantly. Hence, it might affect the environment and lead to new issues related to ecology. For example, recent research has shown that the number of dumps has increased by 20% in comparison to the last decade. Eventually, to conclude, the major cause that explains why people enjoy shopping so much is that they are addicted to changes and want to have some new experience to be satisfied. Despite this fact,a given tendency has effects on the individual and the society, namely it might destroy human's sense of value and, also, due to a large level of consumption there might be an increase in the number of dumps.