Each year Increasing numbers of students are deciding to move to a different country for higher education. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development ?

Foreign countries have become more popular with international admission for tertiary education. From my standpoint, this development has both advantages and disadvantages. On the one hand, pursuing education in foreign countries has some challenges. First of all, the main downside is the language barrier. Students might need to learn the host country's language which will be used for studying and living and this could be a significant challenge for individuals who are not competent enough to speak its language almost every time. Next, students might experience culture shock and feelings of isolation. For example, living in unfamiliar norms without parents would not be easy for overseas students, especially when they also undergo academic pressure. While these can be growth opportunities, they may also negatively impact a student's mental health and academic performance. On the other hand, studying overseas brings a vast number of benefits. Firstly, students can experience the advanced teaching facilities and environment so that they might get a whole new point of view on the study they chose compared if they study in their home country. Moreover, they can also learn soft skills in life, take, for instance, budgeting income and expenses, thanks to not being under parental supervision in a foreign country. Last but not least, studying abroad can also enlarge the social circle of friendship. To conclude, while there are some pros and cons regarding overseas education, in my viewpoint the advantages of it still overshadow the downsides so that studying abroad is a positive development.