Some children spend hours every day on smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In this advancement-technological era, many parents do not hesitate to buy their children smartphones, this might affect youngsters in both physical and mental health. In this essay, I will explain why this situation might occur and the potential problems. It is obvious that in this modern era, technology has been evolving. The production of smartphones is relatively rapid and cheaper than ever before. People in general from low to high income, and young to old can easily afford these technological tools. This situation might cause several negative impacts, particularly in children with the fact that at this young age, they might lack self-control and awareness. Unfortunately, this condition has been worsened by parents who both leave their children to a smartphone and neglect their parental-supervision job that nannies might lack. Another problem that might potentially affect the young generation is both physical and mental health issues. Addiction to smartphones often makes minors sit in the same position and constantly stare at the monitor for an unacceptable duration, leading to a lack of physical activities that might be one of the reasons for obesity, cardiovascular illness, and joint problems. Moreover, a vision problem could be experienced, therefore, they might use glasses or get lasix surgery at a young age, which might lower their self-esteem. To conclude, in this modern era, smartphones have become a necessity in our daily life, this evolving technology making smartphones affordable for general communities, leading to numerous negative impacts, especially in minors who lack self-control. Addiction has glued youngsters to their mobile phones, leading to laziness and constant staring at their gadgets. Consequently, they might experience problems such as obesity, cardiovascular disease, and even vision destruction. However, this situation could be prevented by parental supervision, time management and strategies. Therefore, minors could function their gadgets as more beneficial tools in the long run.