People think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others believe that there are other alternative solutions for reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion on this topic.

Individuals argue that longer prison years sentence is the only way to reduce the number of crimes whilst others disagree and argue that there are better ways to solve this. This essay agrees with the argument that alternative ways such as educating people and giving them resources to earn are far more beneficial than confining them to a prison cell. To begin with, many people believe that offenders should be punished with long prison sentences prison sentences this phenomenon can create a fear among the criminals. In other words, if a person is already aware of the punishment for a crime, it will discourage them from committing a crime. To exemplify, in UAE, the rapist and murderer are usually given life long sentences, resulting in making people think twice to commit any serious crime. Hence, imposing strict punishments, refrain individuals from breaking the law. However, I believe that alternative ways such as providing education and creating more job opportunities can solve this issue more effectively. Sufficient education and engaging in job keep citizens busy and away from the crimes. To exemplify, Sweden provides free education to its citizens and always working on creating more job for the public. That is why Sweden is on the top on the list of peaceful countries. In conclusion, longer prison terms certainly help to reduce the crime rates by implanting fear in the minds of the potential criminals and discourage them from committing any crimes. However, eradicating the root cause of crime by providing free education and employment opportunities is a far better option.