Some people think that money is one of the most essential factors in promoting happiness. Do you think people can be happy without much money? What other factors contribute towards happiness?

Many people are of the opinion that money is a necessary asset to living a happy life. I believe that it is easier to find one’s happiness when they are financially abundant. However, it is possible to remain joyful even if somebody is not wealthy. Other reasons like self-awareness, career growth and a feeling of belonging with their family and community play an important role in shaping their overall satisfaction with life. I think being happy is a choice and it is possible to be cheerful even when our finances are not smooth. That is to say, it is up to us if we think that we can find joy only from things that we don’t have at that particular time. It is extremely important to acknowledge what one has in the present. As a result of this, one is always feeling grateful and abundant about what they have which puts their mind in a delighted state. People with this kind of mindset are generally seen to be more spiritual and connected with themselves. On the other hand, we can easily spot many rich people leading a miserable life and not being able to find the source of their contentment. Besides accumulated wealth, there are a lot of things that can affect a person’s state of mind like job satisfaction. For instance, a doctor doing volunteer work in underdeveloped countries may have very little earning but the reward of helping people and doing the job they are good at, brings happiness in itself. In other words, happiness can be found using skills that people are trained for and through job satisfaction. In conclusion, happiness and money do not look directly related and an individual’s joy is more reflected by the engagement they have with their internal and external environment.