Fresh water is a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, increasing demand made it a global problem. What are the causes of increasing demand, what measures can governments and individuals take to solve this problem?

Water has long been considered as a scarce resource in human societies, because of its limited existence on the earth. However, given the limited nature, the increasing demand makes the situation even worse. This essay will discuss the possible causes and propose potential solutions that may alleviate the problem. One of the major causes of more need for water is the increasing population. Countries like China and India encourage childbirth recently, especially China, which has waived the one -child policy that would otherwise keep the population growth under government control. The simple logic is that the increased population leads to increased demand for water. One way to tackle the problem could be adopted by governments, instead of birth control, which might be vital for other political or economic purposes, is to introduce water recycling technology. One case in point is the water recycling system used in Singapore, the system recycles the toilet water and puts it into new use, which is another way to cut the water use and waste. Another reason that should be mentioned is the weather uncertainty in parts of the world. Drought can be detrimental to plants such as crops. If drought happens, peasants and landowners would use the water reserve to irrigate, making water is even more in shortage. One way forward could be to actively gather and purify the raindrops, to prepare for the next drought. Nevertheless, the weather is not under human control, the approach is not primary to resolve the problem, A third cause is that many human activities today use water, such as irrigation and water amusement parks. More lands are used to grow crops to feed people, and amusement parks add new resorts such as fountains and drifting. Water becomes essential for functioning these activities. One way to deal with this problem involves limiting and increasing the efficiency of water use for certain activities. Certain machines can be funded and introduced by governments to increase the area irrigated when the same amount of water is splashed. Capping the water amount used by fountains and amusement park resorts will urge the owners and responsible parties to use water more efficiently. In conclusion, water is becoming more and more scarce and cherishable, due to the reason of increased population, weather uncertainty and more human consumption. Water is a shortage problem, unless we get the knack of wise water use, future generations are more likely to suffer from resolving the problems. My view is that recycling and reducing the water uses are key to save water resources, and all humans should carry the can and take the blame.