Some people think governments should spend money on measures to save languages with few speakers from dying out completely. Others think this is a waste of financial resources. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

We live in a linguistically diverse world where the issue of extinction of languages spoken by minority groups has gained great public attention for the past few years. While some people feel that governments should fund in the preservation of these indigenous languages, others are against this notion. This essay will discuss both views and why I believe that it is essential to conserve these languages. Language is a cultural glue that binds communities together. Loss of language would mean a loss of culture and identity. Communities would lose their traditional heritage of histories and ancestral lineages which were transferred on to the next generation through verbal storytelling. In addition, we would also lose important bits of information passed on from generations. For instance, Sanskrit is a language in India which is facing this crisis currently. This language has the names of plenty of medicinal plants that are yet to be classified by scientists which would be gone unidentified with the death of Sanskrit. Hence, governments should take initiatives to save these languages. However, there are people who believe that this would be a waste of financial resources. They think that a common language is sufficient to facilitate communication all over the world. With globalization, many people, especially youngsters, are trying to learn English to fit into the connected world of the Internet. They believe discarding their native language is a sign of progression. Moreover, they argue that the money invested in conserving these languages can instead be used for the development of other sectors of the country like education, health and infrastructure. In conclusion, language is a traditional asset of our ancestors. In my opinion, ruling authorities should encourage implementing measures to preserve these endangered languages which in turn safeguards our culture and heritage.