The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

In our contemporary life, it has always been a controversial issue over whether the government should impose international laws and alter forms of transport to the restrictions of purchasing automobiles and the operation of them in British in 1980. As far as I am concerned, I firmly support this belief and my reasons are outlined below. On the one hand, we may point out the indisputable fact that the British residents overused cars with different purposes, which emitted fume (CO2) that is one of the most common factors causing air pollution. According to a recent survey conducted by an American journalist, the quality of the atmosphere in British has been decreasing dramatically. To be more specific, British citizens chose to drive the car form to the supermarket in lieu of going by foot although this place is within walking distance of their houses. This study offers strong proof that our environment would be damaged seriously if the authorities did not manage the usage and property of cars. Another key rationale underpinning this view is that the overconsumption of automobiles means the large number of this transport appears on the streets. This situation resulted in the increase of accidents on roads and caused traffic jam. For example, there was more unexpected accidents from crashing cars on highway in Vietnam, which made many motorists were in line at peak time. In fact, a recently published study illustrates that if the policy had strict rules in driving the cars, there would not have been negative consequences like these above-mentioned instances. On the other hand, it is understandable why some people are of the fervent conviction that selling cars made more opportunities for people to earn living. Supporters of such a view would argue that these sellers would be out of work if international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. Such a scenario is exaggerated because this form of transport was much more up-to-date and convenient than the others. A prime example would be Australian inhabitants tended to replace motorcycles or bikes with cars on the roads. All things All things considered, I would therefore say that there are justifiable grounds for advocating the view that alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and imposing international laws would be easier for the government to manage the usage and owning the car of residents.