Nowadays, many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Self-employed is getting a common choice to work rather than working for a company or organisation. Because of the development of technology, people can launch their own company using their computers and advertise their business on the internet. I will discuss two reasons why many workers choose to be self-employed workers and the disadvantages of being self-employed workers. One reason why many workers choose to be self-employed because of its flexibility. While employees work under the regulation, self-employed workers can decide their business by themselves. When workers want to take a vacation, they can decide the length by themselves. For example, a friend of mine found her own yoga class and enjoys looking after her baby because she can adjust her working hours and time depending on her lifestyle. In addition, workers also feel a sense of security. In 2020, Corona pandemic has happened, and many employees were fired due to restriction of governments. When workers rely on their income to their companies, there is no way to receive money in another way. Therefore, many people start their own business to service. Another reason is the development of technology. Even though many people choose to be self-employed as it seems a better choice, the drawbacks of this working style also should be aware. Firstly, workers do not have employee benefit. When workers work for companies, they can receive certain benefits such as paid holidays and health insurance. However, people who own their businesses, they do not have such an opportunity. Secondly, self-employed workers also need to do financial management. Calculating balance and making payment to their employees is inevitable to run a company unless they hire an accountant, so this takes time or cost to do it by themselves. In conclusion, many people willing to be self-employed but there are some drawbacks being this working style because they have no employee benefit and need financial management skills.