Some people think that intelligence is innate while others think that we can improve our intelligence through learning. Discuss both ideas and give your opinion.

It is argued that mental abilities are exclusively inherited, whereas a number of people consider that they can be acquired due to education and hard working. However, even though I do not exclude the presumed role of the genetic inheritance, I am entirely sure that intellectual capabilities one can definitely gain by proper training. On the one hand, nobody would deny that the genetic factor is crucial in the process of one ’s mental development. In fact, the intellectual abilities have been transmitted from one generation to another throughout the whole period the history. Therefore, a person is born with the appropriate genetic code of the intellect. For example, in the doctors’ family, the probability that the younger members will share the same interest and have success in that sphere is noticeable. On the other hand, heredity is not the only prerequisite for becoming a judicious personality. Hence, there are numerous examples of well-known writers or scientists, who were born in the environment of blue-collars and reached their career goals due to their huge efforts in self-education and a long-term experience. The most salient example is the founder of the theory of the relativity Albert Einstein, who was grown in a common family and because of low educational progress even dropped off the school. Furthermore, due to new medical technologies nowadays, even people who have noticeable mental disabilities may develop their intellectual skills. For instance, if a few decades ago those who suffered from autism, were considered ineligible members of the society, now such illnesses are no more a verdict. To illustrate, in one of the most reputable IT company of Berlin almost 20% of programmers comprise autistic individuals, who have overcome their illness after years of various exercises and possessed appropriate mental skills. In conclusion, intelligence is a human ability which can be absolutely received through experience and training.