Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

As cities are developing, these urban areas are experiencing problems of increased population size. Both the state and the people have roles to play in overcoming these problems. Arguably the gravest problem caused by overpopulation is overcrowding. When there are more persons living in a space than it can actually occupy, this creates a potential means of transmitting disease from one person to another. For instance, it is reported by the World Health Organization, in the year 2001, that respiratory infections such as tuberculosis can easily spread through air droplets among individuals living in crowded areas and homes. A further serious impact is an increase in the crime rate among young people. This is as a result of the ever-rising number of poor populace who are trying to afford their everyday basic needs. Turning to possible solutions to counteract this issue. Perhaps the government can provide free housing and healthcare systems for the destitute. This is in turn may solve the problem of overcrowding as their more living spaces for masses. The state could also provide more job opportunities, to assist individuals in earning a livelihood. Individuals should also take time to educate themselves of the adverse effects of overcrowding, this will further help them make better housing decisions. They can also adopt birth control methods. By this, each family unit can reduce the number of humans living in a house and can control overpopulation at large. In conclusion, the main concerns of an increased population size seem to be overcrowding and increased illegal acts. However, both the state and the people have key parts to play in solving this worrisome matter.