in many countries nowadays,consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In the contemporary world, people have the easy option to purchase a range of food products that are cultivated in other countries or continents from a superstore. Although there are a group of people who believe it will harm the producer of the home country due to high price competitiveness of the same products imported, in my opinion, it creates an avenue for the consumers to have a vast range of products at a reasonable price and access to those products that are rare in the home country. On the one hand, it is not practical to grow all the products in a country due to several reasons. The most challenging reason is the different weather conditions in the northern and southern hemispheres. For instance, in Europe there are prolonged winter seasons throughout the year which are not suitable for growing certain food grains, such as rice, maize, and sorghum. But thanks to globalization that makes global trade easier, people can get these food items in supermarkets in Europe. Furthermore, labour costs in certain regions are high. For example, the average hourly labour price in Europe and North America is more than double that of Asia and triple compared to Africa. So, superstores collect imported goods that would be more expensive if produced locally, and thus, consumers get the benefit of lower prices. Finally, some food items are related to cultural values, and they are often consumed by expatriates who live in foreign countries for work, where the demand for their home-grown items is generally higher. In addition, the availability of such products in supermarkets can bring cultural diversification to a large extent; for instance, one can consume apples in Bangladesh, even though they are not locally produced. In conclusion, due to globalization, households are now able to get a varied range of food products from superstores that are cultivated in different parts of the world.