Some people think certain prisoners should be made to set up unpaid community work, instead of just being put behind the bars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been argued that not all criminals should be sentenced to jail. According to some people, people who have committed lower offences should be allowed to take part in the community by doing unpaid services and not be put in jail. I totally agree with this thought as I believe this will help both individual and the community. Jail sentence is not always the best solution and some offender should be given a second chance. This includes youth who have been under influence of the peers and those who have been committed to crime due to severe mental health disorders.By giving them an unpaid job in the community, we will help them a chance to improve their behaviours and start a new life. This is certainly true in particular when an offender is remorse for what has done and is trying to change. For instance, in some countries like China, prisoners take part in community services for a period of 2 years before being able to apply for a paid job, during this volunteer job they must be working under the supervision and should be sending their monthly behavioural report to the court. This will give them another chance. Thus, by working for free they will have a good opportunity to show their society they have changed. Society will improve by receiving some unpaid services. This is certainly true when there is a shortage of worker in some area for instance construction of city infrastructure. This is particularly true in some jobs are demanding. For instance, some governments use prisoners for building railroads and highways to connect cities. By using prisoners, government can cut some of its expenses and get the job done faster. As a, result society will improve as a result of this free service jobs. In conclusion, I do advocate for the idea that some prisoners should be working for services instead of spending their time in jail because it helps both individual and community to grow.