In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In recent years, the migration of farmers to the capital has increased, leaving the countryside empty. In this essay I will discuss how negative the impacts of that development are. Firstly, one of the main disadvantages of that approach is the overpopulation of metropolises. This is mainly a problem because while the main reason for that intensive movement is a wish for better jobs and better-quality life, the jobs and facilities available in the capitals probably will not be able to serve the needs of that amount of people. Moreover, increased pollution in cities is another probable result, and by increasing pollution, a lot of associated health problems will appear. For instance, Cairo, the Egyptian capital, suffers from increased unemployment rates and one of the highest pollution levels globally due to its population of 10.2 million, mostly composed of rural immigrants. Secondly, another major drawback is the reduced production of food products such as fruits, vegetables, and various types of meat. This is because most of these rural people work as farmers. Thus, them leaving the agricultural land and switching to more modern lifestyles will cause a reduction in the food production, forcing the country to depend on imported foods higher in budget. On the other hand, if the country had an equal distribution of population in both rural and urban areas, a balanced economy would be accomplished without any compromises in the production of neither food nor technical products. In conclusion, the trend of leaving the countryside and going to more urban areas can cause a lot of employment and facility availability problems not to mention the higher pollution levels in cities and the probable damage to the economy due to decline in food products.