More and more parents begin to allow their children to play on computers and tablets as they think children should learn technology skills. Do the advantages of this outweigh its disadvantages or not?

With the increased utilization of electronic products in our life, an expanding number of parents start to loosen the restriction of using them for their kids. While there are certain damages this trend can cause, I am inclined to the view that the positive implications can prevail over the negative ones. One of the key drawbacks is that young children are likely to get addicted to playing with games on computers and tablets. Games are designed to be addictive by setting scores and targets to induce users to chase. Small kids with limited self-control ability, can spend endless hours on them, which will take up their time to study and rest. Although this impact may lead to a bad consequence, it can be addressed by adding parenting control. This feature helps parents to monitor and control the usage from their kids, and diminish the influence of long-time playing. In fact, many software and websites have already implemented this feature and achieved good results. However, I would argue that using electronic products at an early age has more advantages. First of all, computers are not only for fun but also a good tool for education. Instead of carrying a bunch of heavy books and notes, students can only bring one laptop or tablet which is equipped with e-books and notepad software. Moreover, programming has become one of the most indispensable skills and it is as important as other major subjects like math and literature. Pupils without learning computer skills can be left behind others who start early and become less competitive in the job market. In conclusion, while computers and tablets may bring potential risks to the young generation, it is unreasonable to prohibit the youth from using computers considering the merits it can bring.