One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is argued that the advancement in medical care is leading to a long life of individuals. This essay presents that there are more drawbacks such as increased government expense on pension and youth unemployment over the advantage that retired populations can enjoy their free time. To begin with, increase in life expectancy means that the number of retirees will also add-up and the government will have to pay more pension to them. Moreover, this will affect the national budget as the authorities will have to allocate a huge sum of money into the retirement fund which can be used for other development activities. Eventually, this load will fall on taxpayers in a form of higher tax rates. For example, the countries that have ageing population such as Japan and China pay up to 50% of the tax from their income. Secondly, as a result of healthy, life many individuals who are eligible for the retirement may choose to stay back and work. This will result in unemployment and increased crime in young people. This is to say that because old working people are experienced, and the companies will choose them over the inexperienced young people. As a result, youths are engaged in criminal activities to earn for themself. On the other hand, retired individuals have the opportunity to enjoy their lives. The elderly people who do not have to worry about their children and work can choose to do the things they want to do like travelling to other countries and new places. In other words,,, generally most of the working public devote their whole life on their work and children, leaving little time for them to do the things they like. To exemplify, according to the recent report by The American Lifestyle Magazine, more than 60% of the pensioner Americans travel around the world. In conclusion, inclined life expectancy is a result of the boom in medical research. This can lead to older people to enjoy their lives but will cause scarcity of employment opportunities in the younger generation and they are forced to commit crimes. This essay believes that the disadvantage outweighs the advantages.