It is common for people to travel long distances for work and study. Some argue that longer commute times negatively affect people while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is becoming increasingly widespread that individuals traveling a long distance to and from the workplace and school. While some people argue that this phenomenon causes a lot of detrimental effects on people ’s lives, others have the opposite views. I think it has some benefits for both people and society. On the one hand, some people discuss that commuting for a long distance leads to adverse impacts on people ’s family relations and personal health. Firstly, people spend less time for communicating and getting along with their family members due to the tiredness of long commutes. As a result, they have to leave home very early and arrive home very late so that they do not have enough time to accompany their families. In addition, traveling for a long time to work and study makes people to have some health problems such as depression and obesity because they have to sit for a long time and it brings them more pressures. On the other hand, some claim that long distance traveling would contribute to the success of both individuals and the society. First, long distance commuters have more options to study or work. For example, people who live in the rural area could work in the big city which enable them to earn more money. As a result, their quality of life has risen significantly that they could afford their mortgage and basic foods easily. Secondly, there are more employment opportunities in the society which give people lots of chances to choose what they want to do and help them to get a decent job. Moreover, Social labor force will be increase because the way people travel becomes more convenient. In the past, factories in remote areas often lacked labors because of inconvenient transportation. As long distance commuting becomes more and more common, people are more willing to work in those areas. In conclusion, although long time commuting brings some negative effects on people, but these can be tackled with some methods. I strongly support that it is helpful for personal and social development.