There are many reasons that can motivate a person to stay working for the same company. Some believe that money is the main reason. Do you agree or disagree?

People are motivated to stay in the same job for many different reasons. This essay disagrees that salary is the main factor because most companies pay the same amount of money for the same job, and the culture of a company is far more important than monetary considerations. It does not make sense to say that money is the primary reason why people stay with the same company because for any job there are a number of different companies, all offering a similar salary. This can easily be demonstrated by looking in the employment section of any newspaper and looking at similar roles in the same city. For example, in London right now there are 17 corporate finance jobs and of those, 16 of them are looking for people with 5 years of experience and all pay $60,000-70,000 per year. What is more important is the ethos that each corporation has, and whether you fit in with their philosophy. Some workplaces are very relaxed and put an emphasis on work-life balance, whereas others are more focused on performance at the expense of free time. This was illustrated in a recent New York Times article that highlighted the brutal working hours and intense pressure on Amazon employees to hit their targets. Some employees left because of the stress, but others thrive in this environment and say it as a great chance to develop their skills. In conclusion, this essay disagrees that wages are the most important consideration when remaining in the same job for a long period of time because if employees don’t like their current salary, they can simply move to another company and get paid more or less the same, and corporate culture is a far more relevant concern.