In some countries, the number of people who visits art gallery is declining. What are the reasons for this? How can we solve this problem?

Galleries are becoming increasingly unpopular in many nations, and it is an apparent trend that people are becoming less interested in arts recently, there are several causative factors to this phenomenon ranging from individual to societal levels. In this essay, I will explain them and propose the most appropriate solutions. One of the first reasons for this problem is digital addiction, people are tied to their phones most of the time and are not willing to explore outdoor activities. The second is the lack of awareness about the importance of arts in educational institutions. For instance, in a study conducted by Oxford University, the researchers surveyed a group of high school students about their artistic inclinations, and 82% of them agreed that art is a waste of time and that they would rather spend that time doing sports or video games. Lastly, the lack of funds for art galleries may make them a boring place to visit. Regarding solutions, the most important factor is encouraging governments to pay more support to the arts sector, both financially aiding the galleries, and via hunting for talent in national arts competitions. Secondly, schools must instill a passion for arts among youngsters, for example, by organizing frequent trips to art spaces accompanied by a clear explanation of its impact to draw inspiration. Lastly, art organizers should boost their social media presence and enable some virtual reality features to draw digitally persistent people to them. In conclusion, addressing the multiple levels of this problem can help in creating targeted interventions that will awaken the artistic spirit of this generation and push them to be more frequent visitors of art gallaries.