With the pressures on today's young people to succeed academically, some people believe that non-academic subjects at school (eg: physical education and cookery) should be removed from the syllabus so that children can concentrate wholly on academic subjects. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many young generations are forced to fulfill many kind of pressures from the society, especially academic things and also, many of them are asked to be succeed academically. Thus, some people say, to achieve that kind of success, some non-academic courses should be eliminated from school subject, leaving only academic courses to be learned. Therefore, in this essay, I will explain the reasons why I do not agree with that notion as well as provide the plausible conclusion regarding that matter. To begin with, some addition subjects, such as physical education or cookery, may give the students a relax time to lower their stress that is caused by many essential courses. So, after that, they can be productive again and are ready to face other challenges from the demanding subjects. On top of that, it can be a way to prevent them from commiting a suicide because of the heavy burden that they have. For example, many Japanish students commit suicide every year, it accounted for about 25% of the death rate in a year. The reason why they did that, it is because the pressure on academic things which is very hard to accomplish, and they do not have a time to chill. Then, it is better to have those chilling activities as school subjects, since it helps the pupils to refresh their mind. Secondly, the benefit that the non-essential courses bring to develop our soft skill. As we have known, the academic achievement is not marked only by the score that they get after the tests, but also the social skill that they made in the way they finish every task. Without a communication skill, a good mark is never been achieved. It is because the student will transform into an arrogant and a selfish person, which may lead to lower their performance at school. For instance: a student, who always has a highest score in the test and project, may find difficulties in finishing team work projects. This means that their performance never been optimalized, so they tend to avoid this kind of work. Furthermore, as the education level is getting higher, there will be many project tasks, and if he never changes, he will fail in some courses, leading him in a bad situation. In a nutshell, the non-academic courses may seem as not important as the academic one, but the effects are really good for students' mental and physiology. Hence, in the end, in my personal belief, I think, I disagree with the idea of eliminating the non-academic subjects in order to be succeed at school.