Task 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people think that schools should choose students according to their academic abilities, while others think it is better to have students of different abilities studying together. Discuss both views and state your own opinion?

People hold different views on whether schools should select students based on their academic performances or divide them into mixed-ability classes. From my perspective, I believe that choosing students according to their academic results would be a wiser choice. On the one hand, it is undoubted that the study method of grouping students based on their academic performances is beneficial to both teachers and students. As intelligent students are separated from weaker students, it is easier for teachers to plan suitable lessons at the right pace for their students. For example, students specializing in academic abilities can be provided with advanced documents and materials to reach immense knowledge, whereas, those with lower level can acquire knowledge with slow-paced lessons. Therefore, this practice not only helps students to study effectively and efficiently but it also makes teaching easier for teachers. On the other hand, I believe that mixing students with different abilities together brings about numerous benefits to students ’ development. Firstly, students with diverse abilities can advocate for each other to overcome their own weaknesses. For instance, those who are master in mathematics but struggle with literature can improve their writing skills thanks to the assistance of their classmates and vice versa. As a result, they may overcome their weaknesses and grow up with a comprehensive development. Furthermore, another benefit of varied-abilities classes is driving students ’ teamwork skills. Students are encouraged to cooperate with others, thereby accumulating experience for better problem solving, which can be useful for their future careers. To conclude, both of these study methods bring about a wide range of benefits for students. In my opinion, I strongly believe that schools should divide students into mixed-ability classes for the sake of comprehensive students’ development.