Surveys show that in many countries, people are living longer but increased life expectancy has many implications on individuals and society as a whole. What are the possible effects of longer living for individuals and society?

Technology and medical breakthroughs have increased life expectancy on an average. However, this resulted in the problem of the ageing population in developed nations, which has been affecting both individuals and society. The effects of the ageing population would be discussed in this essay. The increased life expectancy gives a chance to see this beautiful world for a longer time, however it brings many challenges to those ageing individuals. They lose the ability to communicate, walk, hear or do other activities on their own, and become dependant on their families or hired nurses for these tasks. Hence, longer life brings more problems than enjoyment for elderly people and their families. The rising number of retired people is increasing the financial burden on governments. A higher number of elderly citizens means more and better medical facilities are required, along with providing pensions to that group. These highly demanded areas can consume most of the budget, which leaves very low financial help for other sectors such as, education, and environment. Thus, this can hinder the growth of those sectors and the overall development of the country. Moving ahead, this also impacts working adults with increased financial responsibilities. For instance, one or two working individuals in a family has to manage expenses and fulfil the needs of the whole family. Besides, fewer taxpayers mean the government can increase taxes per person, so those people in the workforce have an added economic burden. This financial pressure would probably result in a more health-related issue such as stress, anxiety and less healthy citizens and workers. To conclude, it can be said that there are some negative effects of better life expectancy on both individuals and society, which are mainly related to a financial situation.