Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones in communication has negative effects on young people's reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is thought by a selection of individuals that an uprising of technology such as computers and smartphones in communication offers plenty of drawbacks to the new generations on both reading and writing skills. From my perspective, I strongly disagree with this notion and my supportive reasons will be outlined in the following paragraphs before reaching a conclusion. At the outset, there are several positive effects of using new technologies and one of the most significant is that it enhances young people' reading skills. To explain in greater detail, a lot of articles, novels, academic research, etc are available on the Internet, awaiting students to delve. Furthermore, plenty of them are well-written and well-organised, easy to read and comprehend and therefore students can quickly improve their skimming and scanning skills for details or reading speed. An apt illustration of this is that my younger brother needed to prepare himself for IETLS examination and he read a lot of articles and academic research. As a result, he found that his reading speed was faster and grasped a main idea of each topic easier compared to the previous years. Additionally, another clear upside of using new technologies is that it obviously improves writing skills. To elaborate further, minors can be able to sharpen their writing because authors have different styles, making teenagers choose freely which ones suit them the most. Moreover, there are a variety of tenses, words and vocabulary are used and thus allowing the younger generations to adapt and apply them to their writing. To specifically demonstrate, my younger brother tried to read a lot of essays as it helped him to generate and develop ideas for IELTS writing part. As a result, he told me that when he did the exam, he chose the pattern from other essays which was easy for him to follow and he had plenty of vocabularies to talk about in that topic. At the end of the day, some individuals believe that new technologies such as computers and smartphones contribute downsides to our young generations. From my point of view, I disagree with this idea as they can help them enhance their reading and writing skills, helping them read faster and clearer and understand productive and effective writing patterns.