Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Reports showed that several species of animals are on the verge of extinction while many other species are predicted to face the same alarming issue soon. This saddening reality is driven by several circumstances, from animal poaching to the lack of government support. Animal poaching activities, which are driven by demand from wealthy people, of endangered animals are prevalent across the globe, especially in Africa. The act of hunting exotic animals such as elephants, lions, and birds has been reported. Possible solutions to this problem are frequent monitoring in areas with exotic animal populations. Monitoring done by official groups should be done with advanced technology such as drones. Other equipment such as CCTV can also be installed, allowing real-time and 24/7 observation. Furthermore, strict punishment for such groups also needs to be set and taken. Some of the areas inhabited by endangered animals are often on the outskirts areas of a country, and this place is rarely visited by human beings. The government, which has the authority to pass a certain law and establish a program in focus to protect endangered animals, should act fast as any delay could lead to the actual extinction of some species. Solutions such as the creation of a fence along the specific area can be done. Although the authority may have listed a possible solution, sometimes those are not being carried out accordingly. Demanding the government could be done by the citizens through protests and massive social movements. To conclude, animal extinction is driven by human beings. Therefore, actions to prevent acts that lead to endangering animals should be taken seriously by the act of isolating and monitoring certain space inhabited by animals and passing strict laws to persecute animal poachers.