At the present, the population of some countires includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent times, certain nations have the ratio of their young adults outnumbering that of the elderly which is a cause of major concern. I think the merits of this trend outweigh the demerits because the younger ones drive the country's labour force and foster economic growth. To begin with, perhaps the foremost benefit of this trend is that they drive the nation's workforce. This implies that the middle age is the power engine of the nation because the young nation is generally known to be vibrant and energetic. For instance, in a recent radio interview with the chairman of Nigerians Labour Congress, he attributed the enormous success and productivity in the union to the young adults among its members. In the same vein, the extent of the country's financial improvement is directly proportional to the performances of its young people. This implies that these groups are vast in knowledge and skills such as information communication and technological (ICT) skills necessary for innovation and inventions of businesses and management of existing firms all of which contribute to economic growth. Likewise, these young people are in their reproductive years which means they are directly responsible for population growth which in turn is a significant factor of economic advancements. Hence, emphasising their importance. Admittedly, it is no doubt that the increased population of young people may possibly lead to increase crimes and diverse social mishaps, however, this can be curbed if the youth's energy and curiosity is guided and channelled properly through good education and empowerment to the good of the nation ~ In conclusion, the merits of a country having more young adults far outweighs the demerits because it helps nations grow and ensures a consistent presence of a robust workforce