Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many governments claim that economic development is their most crucial aim, while some individuals contend that other types of progress are equally important for a nation. This essay agrees with the notion that other types of progress like social and cultural progress are equally important for a country. Most governments relate a nation's development with metrics like Gross domestic product. They believe that money is necessary for any resource which creates value, and is the most common medium for the exchange of services. However, this approach misses out on crucial metrics for measuring progress, like the quality of life. For example, half of the countries with the top 10 highest GDPs are not even present in the top 20 countries with the highest quality of life index. Some persons think that the social and cultural progress of a nation is equally important for its development. I agree with this notion, because relying solely on the economic progress of a nation without accounting for social and cultural progress leads to a stagnant nation. For example, even though a lot of middle eastern countries have high GDP, lack of cultural progress in these nations has led them to be a bland place to live in. Relying solely on economic progress has also led to a situation where women have become secondary citizens compared to men. To conclude, while economic development plays a crucial role in helping a country move forward, relying entirely on it can lead to a stagnant nation. Other metrics of development like social and cultural progress are equally important and must be considered in the overall development of a country.