Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the would are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars?

The proposition that car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now " one big traffice-jam", is true. One of the recent topical issues across the globe is global warming and as an effort to save the Earth is reducing the amount of emission into the air. This gas emanates from cars, aeroplanes, helicopters and so on. However, with the intervention of Government, measures to curb an increase in car ownership can be achieved in a myriad of ways: First, more emphasis on "saving the earth" shoulbe be paramount in solving this enormous problem. "Going Green" by creating and expanding eco-friendly environment would encorage cycling and scootering. For instance, enforcing laws on riding bicycles to school or offices. Furthermore, the acquisition of Driver's Licence could be made tedious so as to discourage people from purchasing an automobile. For example, i would rather get an electric scooter which i know does not require a licence than buying a car with a long process of obtaining an authorisation to driving it. Alternatively, the leaders can expand on other means of transportation to enable people have options of commutting from one place to another. These mode of transport are sky trains, boats, electric trains and so on. In addition, they can make heavy taxes on cars or fines for refusing to make use of other alternative. For example, imposing a higher rate of excise duties would serve as a drawback on the importation of vehicles. Finally, the governing body can also consider encoraging factories in production of bicycles, scooters and roller-skating shoes but with protectives measures to avoid accidents. One one hand, this will lead to people walking which comes with health benefits on the other hand, helps reduce road congestion. In conclusion, the aforementioned preventive yardsticks will profer long-term solution to the obstacles posed by traffic. Nevertheless, with large concentration of companies in cities around the world, road congestion might be difficult to address unless the government makes policies that would support businesses to operate in less populated areas to reduce road blockage in metropolitan places.