In some countries many more more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think is a positive or negative development??

Recently, the number of people choosing to live in their own place is increasing steadily. In the past, however, it was common to live with parents or someone else. In my opinion, this is a positive trend and this essay will present arguments to support my idea. The main reason why I believe this is a positive development is that living alone brings more privacy. First, people who live alone do not need to worry about the time they come back home. It is common to happen some conflicts between parents and sons or roommates due to the time of arriving at home. The majority of young adults like to spend some time in places such as bars and restaurants, and if they live alone, they do not need to worry about the time. Second, many adults are prone to receive friends in their home, however, they are not able to do this because their parents or roommates do not allow. Nevertheless, those who live alone can invite whomever they want to visit their place. Furthermore, choosing to live alone is an essential step towards self-development. This is because living by own means makes people financially more responsible. In fact, when people decide to take such a decision, they are aware that it means bills to be paid and more money to spend and, therefore, they will spend their money more wisely. Finally, living alone creates a level of independence and people tend to learn crucial skills, such as cooking. To sum up, I believe when people decide to live alone, they are taking a giant step towards their privacy and self-development. I suggest every adult should have an experience like that because,certainly, they will consider as a positive change.