Some people think that it is best to live in a horizontal city while others think of a vertical city. Disscus both view and give your opinion.

It is argued that living in a horizontal city is more beneficial whilst others disagree and argue that a high-rise residence is more favourable. This essay will first present that the advantage of the skyscraper buildings are the preservation of the environment while the merits of living in vertical cities are having their own privacy. I believe that living in tall accommodations are beneficial to both the individuals and the environment. To begin with, by choosing to live in multiple storey residence, the public helps to save the surroundings. This is to say that it occupies less land but it can provide homes to tens and hundreds of families in the same structure. Moreover, when less land is needed there will be no need to encroach the natural habitat for space and the timbers. Thus, it plays a significant role in preserving the environment. For example, if the family lives in a house then each household needs 700 square meters of area, but if they decide to reside in a skyscraper then more than 100 homes can live in the same area of land on different floors. On the other hand, several people prefer to live in a separate house because of privacy issues. People like to stay in a large private space with their own garden and back yard and does not want others to see the activities of their lives. Despite this advantage, lands in the cities are very expensive which costs a fortune for regular citizens to purchase, however, if housings with many levels are built, then the amount for an apartment are comparatively cheaper and this benefits the working-class citizens to live near their workplace and cut their commute time. To exemplify, thousands of public have jobs in the city or near the commercial area but cannot afford a house in there but the developments of tall apartment projects have solved this by offering a unit at a reasonable price and the workers so that they can live near the metropolitan area reducing their travel duration. In conclusion, living in an own house provides privacy for the family, however, staying in the vertical properties, protects the nearby natural surroundings and offers affordable housing to the employees working in the commercial areas. Therefore, this essay believes that it is highly suitable to live in multi-level buildings.