The internet means people do not need to travel to foreign countries to understand how others live. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that with the internet, it is no longer necessary for people to travel to understand foreign cultures. I completely disagree with this view because traveling is the only way for people to make authentic, international friendships and taste local foods. People still need to travel to other countries in order to make friends abroad and learn about their culture. When someone travels abroad, they normally make friends with language teachers, tour guides and friendly locals at hotels and bars. Many of these friendships result in invitations to weddings, parties and cultural festivals that are special to the people who live there. For example, when I went to Mexico, I became friends with a local university student who invited me to her cousin’s elaborate wedding in Mexico City. If I had not traveled to Mexico, I would not have learned about the “ tornaboda ”, the exciting after party that starts after many of the guests go home. Traveling abroad is also necessary if people want to taste local foods that are made by the people who live there. When people go to other countries, eating the local delicacies is often the best way to learn about the place. People learn about uniquely grown vegetables and fruits and get a taste of new seasonings and herbs. For example, in Chile, many visitors can get a taste of “pebre”, a unique appetizer that starts almost every meal in that country. If people do not actually travel to this country, they could never eat this dish by an actual Chilean who has sourced local ingredients and cooked it expertly. In conclusion, I completely disagree that people no longer have to travel to learn new cultures because they still need to make friends abroad and eat authentic meals in order to truly experience them.