One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Medical care improvement in recent years has supported the society in a myriad of ways. The proposition that it is the reason people living longer and life expectancy increasing is true. Prior to this advancement, there has been a high mortality rate, lack of proper treatment, inadequate facilities and so on. Do I think the merits outweigh the demerits?,Yes I do. First, government spending on healthcare has proven great relevance in our society. For example, capital investment in the acquisition of sophisticated medical equipment to aid smooth health services delivery such as treatment of diabetes, hypertension, heart diseases and so on. Consequently, there is an African believe that anyone who lives longer is highly favoured and blessed by God. Living longer has its benefits and drawbacks. For example, an elderly person with no illness and surrounded by loved ones could be seen as a blessing while an aged man who has dementia with no one around to cater for him and he is been taking to hospice might be considered a curse. Furthermore, the establishment of "Old people homes"across the globe seeks to bridge the gap by taking sole care of aged members of the society whose families are not so close. In most cases, this initiative on some grounds has been made by government parastatals. For instance, most educated children who live at a distance would rather have their ageing mother in a conducive environment where they pay fees to be assured these mother would be well taken care of. In addition, to avoid boredom, individuals with an aged father will appreciate where social interaction with their mates is present. In conclusion, having to live long is truly a blessing as far as I am concerned because, I will love to see my father around my little ones telling them folklores, stories and sharing words of wisdom with them. Also, visiting them during national celebrations and sending my babies whenever I need a break from parental duties. However, there is a greater sense of responsibility when it comes to overseeing the welfare of aged people especially when sickness sets in but with frequent check-ups, eating healthy, exercises, love and affection, living old should not be a curse but a rare opportunity to embrace.