Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In contemporary society, more people have chosen to work independently instead of having a job in a company or enterprise. The causes of this phenomenon are various and being self-employed has both upsides and downsides. With the pressure at work increasing and the competition among fellows boosting, one of the main problems which people are facing nowadays is the instability of their occupation. In some companies, if an employee fails to meet the required deadline or workload, they risk being fired. So, if they choose to be self-employed, they wouldn’t have to worry about losing their job. In addition, self-employed jobs are more flexible on time schedules. In normal work, employees need to work according to a clear schedule, which includes on and off work and rest times, it could be bothering since employees cannot work at their own pace. However, people can manage their time when it comes to self-employed work. For example, when a long-term problem comes across, self-employed workers can respond to it quickly, but a normal worker would have to ask for permission to leave their working spot, which could be quite inconvenient. On the downside, being self-employed could also bring some problems. The most obvious and common one is low efficiency at work which leads by the lack of self-discipline. Usually, people will be more motivated and effective when in a competitive environment. However, the competition among colleagues is what self-employed work is short of. Therefore, the work efficiency and results of self-employed work may not necessarily be satisfactory. On the other hand, there will be fewer opportunities for self-employed people, since working in a company could undoubtedly provide workers a much bigger platform than themselves. To conclude, despite the drawbacks that self-employed work might bring, there are reasons self-employment has become a social trend.