Some people think that it is more beneficial to take part in sports which are played in teams, like football, while other people think that taking part in individual sports, like tennis or swimming, is better. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some claim that team sports such as football are more beneficial for players. Meanwhile, others hold a belief that sports that are played individually have superior advantages. In my view, both types of sports bring equal advantages. On the one hand, by participating in team sports, we learn to collaborate with others. In-game fields, individual ambition takes second place to team objective. Members work as a team and already sacrifice their interests to achieve a common goal. For example, in football, a player will sacrifice the opportunity to score a goal to pass the ball for his team member if the chance of a goal being scored is higher of his teammate. On the other hand, solo sports can bring a number of benefits, one of which is the cultivation and maximization of personal capacity. To be precise, when being without the assistance of others, one has to exert himself to the utmost to come up with solutions to win and overcome his limits. For instance, in a tennis competition, a player has to strategize his ball serve, predict where the ball falls and be agile in his movement. Besides, when doing sport individually, people are liberated from the constant of rigidly following a previously agreed plan, thereby having the freedom to experiment with a new way of playing. Therefore, such players often have a high sense of satisfaction. All in all, each type of sport has its merits in cultivating a player’s personality development. It should depend on each player as to what sport they should do.