It is important for all towns and cities to have large public spaces such as parks and squares, Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The issue of the lack of community area has sparked considerable debate in recent times. Some people contend that towns and cities need shared spaces such as parks or squares for their citizens. In my point of view, I partly agree with the given perspective. This essay will discuss several reasons in support of my view. On the one hand, there are some arguments in favour of the idea that every town and city needs ample public areas like parks and squares. To begin with, parks and squares offer spaces for relaxation, recreation, and social interaction, enhancing overall well-being. The first thing that comes to mind when people ask for a place where everyone can enjoy the fresh and open air is the park, most of the family choose to go to the park because it is suitable for any occasion such as a short break for the weekend or just for picnics. Likewise, the square is a place where people can gather for special events for instance New Year celebrations or important announcements. Furthermore, green spaces contribute to cleaner air, reduced sound contamination, and temperature regulation. People living in big cities nowadays suffer from environmental issues including air and noise pollution, and they tend to return to the countryside as a way to escape such pollution. For example, a major city like New Delhi is considered to be the top city in terms of air pollution, so the first step taken by the Indian government is to create more green areas, besides that is reduce the number of vehicles on the road. On the other hand, there are several reasons against the statement that it is crucial for towns and cities to have spacious outdoor gathering places. Initially, the main argument would be that developing and maintaining parks and squares can be expensive. The expense of purchasing land in urban areas, especially prime locations, is often expensive. Besides that, installing trees, flowers, and other greenery, as well as maintaining them also can be costly. Another argument would be that if not properly managed, public spaces could become hotspots for crime or anti- social behaviour. For instance, although it is a world-renowned landmark, Central Park in New York has had periods of higher crime rates, particularly in certain areas. All in all, the facts mentioned above have created a dilemma when people evaluate the effects of this issue, and it has still sparked controversy in recent years. I personally believe that it could have both sides, people should have further consideration on this issue.