Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than o work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In this contemporary era, a majority of people prefer to run their own business, rather than to work for others. In my opinion, this phenomenon may bring several benefits for them. I am also convinced that self-employment has its own drawbacks too. It is my view that setting up a personal business might be easy in recent years since globalization has been taking place so fast and the Internet provides a global marketplace. For example, small businesses have been increasing due to the virtual world and a vast number of adolescents find it practical to gain money through online shops. In other words, social media become a source of revenue in this modern century which facilitates trade and boosts interpersonal skills. Furthermore, does not need strong credentials, since it is not competitive. In addition, being their own boss offers greater freedom and a sense of achievement. For instance, people who are self-employed have weekends off and flexible working hours. Research findings confirm that such laborers become more creative and happier which results in a higher standard of living and a luxurious lifestyle in the long run. I further believe that self-employment has some negative impacts. First and foremost, there is less financial stability in such careers, therefore, many businesses fail to make a profit. As a result, bankruptcy would be an adverse consequence which brings several detrimental impacts for the owner of the business. From an interpersonal perspective, it not only brings poor job security but also vague career prospects which might lead to economic issues as well as psychological problems such as depression. Moreover, self-employment involves hard work, long hours and total responsibility as well as no pensions, sick pay and holiday pay. Therefore, it is not preferable for elderly citizens, as they have a desire for a secure retirement with appropriate insurance. In conclusion, having a sense of freedom assists individuals who are self-employed to become more innovative and live happier compared with those of work for an organization. From my standpoint, this matter brings some disadvantages, namely facing financial issues and being bankrupt.