Some people think competitive sport is important for a child’s education . Other think it has negative effects on children. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A few people believe that playing competitive games by students plays a vital role in their studies, whereas others assert involvement in these activities is not beneficial for the children. I intend to discuss both the views followed by my own opinion. On the one hand, advocates of latter view opine that competitive sport can adversely impact the studies of the pupils. In order to participate at a level which requires consistent practice, students need to spend enough time in the field to participate in it. Due to this, they often fail to spend time in their academics, thereby negatively affecting their studies. For example, a child who practices in the morning and evening for sports gets tired and generally skips the classes and self-study hours to recover. This situation clearly depicts the effect on the education of sports students as they do not get time for studies. On the other hand, proponents of the former notion assert participation in competitive sport enhances certain skills which can assist the young ones to imitate these characters in their academic life. To explain, players are not only trained to bear pressure, but also to hold their nerves in any competition by the sports coaches. These qualities are generally required in taking competitive examinations as well, which are not easily provided through teaching in classes. Thus, students who are equipped with these skills through competitive sports activities are more likely to get succeeded in the examinations which require competition such as entrance exam for various prestigious universities and so on. In my perspective, sports activities can aid the students to perform better in their education unless they spend a large share of time in the sports field only. It is primarily due to the fact that outdoor activities increase oxygen content in the body, which can make students more sharp and active. This is imperative for their studies because it can help them to raise their concentration while learning as the fresh and active mind is more focussed according to various studies as well. To conclude, in my opinion, students ought to dedicate some time to competitive sports as it can help in terms of building character which can assist them in their education as well as refreshing their minds to increase concentration in studies.