In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In some countries, Taking a gap year is becoming more and more popular among young adults. Some people think there are many advantages to travel or work before entering university. In contrast, others have the opposite opinion. I will discuss both of these opinions below. On the one hand,having a gap year can benefit youngs in many ways. First, spending a year for work before going to university can improve their social skills, such as communication skills and teamwork with others. Both of these can benefit their future careers. Other than work, travel can open young people’s minds. Experience in different cultures can make them know our world better, which is especially important for students who may study social science in future. Thus, there are many ways to learn from the experience of the gap year. On the other hand, may think there are disadvantages of not going to university directly. One reason is that the gap year increases the economic pressure of the family. Travelling costs may need to be covered by our parents. Though some people choose to work, it is more likely that you can not find a high salary job. Furthermore, gap year means you will graduate later for one or more years. Which means you need more years to give back to your family. In conclusion, there are pros and cons for a gap year. Thus, in my opinion, whether we do a gap year or not depends on person to person. We can not generally say a gap year is good or bad.