There is less communication between family members today than in the past. Do you agree or disagree?

In this modern contemporary era, where technology has played a crucial role in the development of methods where people can easily communicate, commute and get the information at their door-steps. It is observed that the interaction among family members has been drastically reduced compared to the olden days. In my opinion, the above statement is true and I shall explain why in the following essay. Nowadays, Electronic devices have been made very easily accessible by technology. Because of this, families have started utilizing their leisure time on social media which has reduced the verbal communication among them which was not the case in the past. This has led to a change in human behaviour across all age groups where family members like spending time by themselves and thus results in less bonding, lack of affection and love. For example, a teenager would like to spend time playing games on his mobile phone rather than talking to his parents. Furthermore, there is a major improvement in the education sector these days which has led to people to study more, think broad and to move to the urban cities for better job opportunities whereas in the olden days the entire family representatives used to follow the traditional occupation helping each other out. Although this has made society more materialistic, independent and financially stable, it also has resulted in a huge gap in the communication among families due to hectic lifestyle in order to improve the standard of living. For instance, A farmers son who migrated to the city to work in a Multinational Company is unable to communicate with his family because of overtime shifts and also not able travel back to his hometown due to lack of leaves. In conclusion, I vehemently advocate the statement that communication in the houses has been falling. Neither, Members are expressing their feelings at home nor the family members. While they are finding joy and enthusiasm in the mobiles or laptops, an enhanced lifestyle which is having detrimental effects on the younger generation.