Some people believe that companies should manufacture products that last for a long time. Others feel that the emphasis should be placed on producing cheap goods. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A highly controversial issue today relates to whether companies should manufacture commodities that are long-lasting or produce cheap stocks, so it can be afforded by everyone. In this essay, I am going to examine the question from both points of view and explain why I believe long-established items are of a better choice. Some people argue that the benefits of lifelong stocks considerably outweigh its disadvantages. The main reason for this is that reliable enduring things can be used for a longer period and the consumers can get the returns from the long period of its usage. It is also possible to say that the maintenance is comparatively very less for such reliable stuff. One good illustration of this is that many people buy superior quality furniture items as they do not need to change those in their lifetime. Thus, permanent objects overweigh the cheaper commodity. On the other hand, others believe that economical merchandise is much better because everyone can afford it. There is a big percentage of citizens living in poverty and they cannot afford costly goods. It is often argued that a huge percentage of the money we are paying is used to cover the advertisements, campaigns and brand value instead of the quality. People are with the opinion because many tasted the bitterness of advertisement and victim of marketing strategies. A particularly good example here is the toys exported from China, the same producer will produce similar toys for different companies and the company having a big brand name charge much higher compared to others. In conclusion, I believe both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I feel that long-lasting commodities have upper edge comparing to cheap products. This is because long last items can use for a very long period without additional spending to maintain it.