Human activity has had a negative impact on plants and animals around the world. Some people say that it is too late to do something while others think that actions can be taken to improve the situation. Discuss both sides of the view and give your opinion.

In modern society, although the economy keeps on prospering, we have been facing a number of environment-related issues such as air pollution and the depletion of natural resources. There is a heated debate about whether we need to take action in order to protect our planet. I am firmly convinced that the government and every individual should make joint efforts to protect the animals and plants. On the one hand, we should never underestimate our efforts in preserving animals and plants. First of all, biodiversity is one of human beings' greatest prospect and the disappearance of wild animals can trigger some problems. For example, the decrease in the population of the sparrow will lead to an increase in insects that are harmful to crops. Thus, considering biological diversity is a key factor in maintaining ecological balance. Secondly, some of our improper behaviours in hurting the natural environment, to some extent, ruin our own living space. Therefore, efforts should be made to preserve natural habitats and realize the sustainable development of natural resources. On the other hand, there are some people who argue that our endeavours in rescuing endangered animals and plant are trivial because what is done cannot be undone. For example, in 2013, a United Nations study found out that several species disappeared from our ecosystem because of deforestation and it is impossible to get them back. This clearly shows the depth of the bad effects that our activities have on wildlife. So, in these people’s opinion nothing can be done to reverse the problem. All in all, a proverb can justify my stand, namely, a stitch in time save nine. It is the responsibility of government to protect animals and plants. This wise option can help us utilize natural resources optimally, which can benefit our generations in long term.