Most societies has its homeless people. Some people think that the best way to help them is to give them money. To what extent do you agree?

Throughout the world there are numerous people living in poor conditions and homeless situation. Part of the population believes that the best measure to help them is offering money; while others defend that different approaches would be more effective. This essay totally stand for the necessity of supporting homeless people without giving them money and the reason why will be explained in the next paragraphs. To begin with, supporters of giving homeless people money defend that extremely poor people have difficulties to find paid opportunities to work. Therefore, they suffer from lack of resources to buy simple things such as toothbrush or soap. Furthermore, there is something more important, which is the dignity aspect that also should be considered. When giving money to homeless people you allow them to choose what they want to buy, eat or wear, instead of treating them as pets who must use or eat whatever is offered to them. Nevertheless, altough the aspect of dignity is plausible, it is also true that homeless people, sometimes, face addiction problems and are constantly found using drugs or alchool on public spaces. Therefore, offering homeless people paid opportunities to accomplish simple tasks such as carrying groceries or maintaining the backyard grass cutted could be more important for their self-esteem and efficient to stimulate them to change their situation. A study published by psychologists in Britain showed that what bothers homeless people the most is not being able to maitaining their expenses with their own hands. To summarize, although it is possible to highlight some positive effects of giving homeless people money, I totally agree that offering them simple paid opportunities could reflect more benefits for their self-esteem and push them to change their life situation.