Education, from preschool through university, should be paid for by the government and therefore free to students. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While some countries do not have free educational systems, and others do, it is unquestionable the importance of this matter since it directly impacts the future of society. However, it has been debated by experts for a very long time whether it should be free of charge for those attending or not. This essay will shed light on the subject explaining why it is my opinion that school should be free as a means to increase equality, as well as explore if it is really as expensive as many think due to the economic benefits it brings in the future. To start, let us explore why free schooling equates to a more egalitarian society. Firstly, it is known that many countries, especially those still in development, have a huge amount of population that struggle to make ends meet every day, and thus have no money to send their kids to university and maybe even to more fundamental levels of school. By being allowed access to free and public educational facilities, these families will be closer to reality only reachable by people with more money, which as a result increases equality. Secondly, another important argument relating is that education is key to help people leave poverty. There are so many examples of families in Brazil that sent kids to public schools and universities, only to see them later get a great job and start helping out their community. The arguments presented above already outline a strong favourable position, but let us explore now how free lecturing might not be as capital intensive for the government as it initially seems. Several studies conducted by top prestigious universities around the world have stated that a strong educational system directly correlates to a strong Gross Domestic Product. As an example, South Korea was a very poor country a few decades ago, and by deciding to invest heavily in education they completely changed their economy for the better and are considered now a very prosperous nation. In addition, along with a stronger GDP, something else that comes along is innovation. By allowing free access to education, a country starts to have more people studying and conducting research in universities, thus bringing innovation in all sorts of fields of study and giving the nation a competitive advantage over others. In conclusion, there are several social and economical benefits that derive from an easier to access educational system. Therefore, it is imperative that schooling should be made free so that everyone has equal opportunities. After a thorough analysis of this subject government should start to plan their actions accordingly so that this policy may be effective as soon as possible.