In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With the increased use of computers, the internet, and smartphones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development for employers and employees?

It is a fact that the workplace plays an important role in our lives. Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about working from home. The following essay will discuss both the benefits and drawbacks of the development of homeworking. On the one hand, there are some reasons why people say that remote working has several advantages. The first merit is that working from home helps business owners to reduce the company’s financial expenses. To be more specific, by allowing employees to work at home, employers can save more expenses on renting offices, electricity, or water bills, and so on. The second benefit is that working from home is more convenient and comfortable for workers. This is because workers can work anywhere and anytime, thus, they are not afraid of being late for work. Moreover, they can also save money on living expenses. For example, when they work from home, they are not having to pay for fuel, commuting, or parking fees. Therefore, remote working has positive effects on both employees and employers. On the other hand, despite the aforementioned benefits, there are some drawbacks of working at home that should be taken into consideration. The first demerit of remote working is that it influences the effectiveness of the enterprises’ human resource management. This is due to the fact that business owners can not monitor employees ’ performance and working efficiency. For instance, managers are unable to ensure that their workers complete their tasks on time. The second drawback of this issue is that the effective working of employees may be decreased. This is because they will get distracted from their surroundings, and it will lead to inefficient work. In addition, employees are also isolated and lack face-to-face conversations by remote working. Hence, working from home has negative effects on both workers and business owners. To sum up, remote working has both pros and cons. However, as far as I am concerned, people should choose the most effective and suitable way for themselves. Only by doing so can we ensure that people will have better, healthier, and more prosperous lives.