Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

A lot of trending remedies have been surfing the internet lately, for say 'Use these simple exercises to get rid of a migraine in 5 minutes at home'. Some might argue that this is a placebo effect rather than a cure, however, many can guarantee that non-traditional medicine actually works. In my opinion, seeking help from a professional is always safer than trusting anyone blindly. Undoubtedly, it could be agreed that doctor visits are quite pricey nowadays and they are not as cheap as they used to be decades ago, hence, people tend to find other alternatives to treat health issues. This not only leads to the sick getting sicker but also higher mortality rates. On the other hand, a lot of people invest in expensive treatments and unfortunately, it simply does not work and they don't get better, so they get eager to try other pharmaceutical treatments without keeping in mind if that would actually cause more harm than good. Let's take mental illness for instance, it has always been believed that mental illness can be cured by electrocution and other harmful techniques, but this has not yet shown any improvement in the subjects who tried it but in fact, caused them to deteriorate instead. A personal example, I have always suffered from knee pain and I found out that a heating pad helps dramatically, however, it does not replace the relief I get after taking painkillers; a medicine to help with the pain. In a nutshell, non-traditional ways of curing illnesses can work out in some cases and can be a plus from a financial aspect but I opine that it does not carry as many merits to overpower well-studied medicine and professionals who dedicated their lives to treating others.