Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What teenagers should do with their spare time has become a topic for debate. Some are of the opinion that this time be used for beneficial community work. I strongly agree with this because of the leadership traits it will groom in children, it is a great way to spend time, and also, support for the elderly is improved. Firstly, partaking in activities such as this prepare children to be leaders in future. For example, Dr. Martin Luther king, known to be a very passionate leader used to help to the community by serving them in ways such as cleaning up the street, and helping the elderly run on errands, even doing some menial work for them. Furthermore, When young adults assist in nurturing a community it fosters a sense of responsibility in them, and this bodes well for society. Secondly, working for the immediate environment is great way to exercise. Research, shows that teenagers in India suffer health related problems because they allocate too much time to sedentary lifestyle, such as watching tv shows, cartoons, and playing video games. Consequently, 2 in every 5 India child suffer some sort of ailment such as back pain caused by the sedentary lifestyle. Finally, when teenagers assist the elderly, it makes them happy and this contributes positively to the social life of their communities. To conclude, when teenagers are partly responsible for their immediate environment, it builds positive traits, it is a good way to work out, and also fosters togetherness. Thereby, leading to a better community for all.