Sport is becoming a business. More and more companies are getting involved in sporting events. Do you think that it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, sports marketing is gaining grounds the world over. Several large organisations use various sports events to advertise their products but according to a section of people, it can cause detrimental effects on sports. However, I strongly disagree with their view as there are some explicit benefits of sports marketing in spite of its adverse effects. To begin with, monetary gains from advertisements are an obvious advantage. Striking income is earned by the sports organisations to promote a product during sports events and with this remuneration, the authorities can foster the growth of sports. Moreover, it is an ideal way to grab financial assistance from the private section which would otherwise, have been impossible. To cite an example, during the Seoul Olympic games Coca-Cola offered an astonishing amount of $22 million just to display the Olympic symbol on its brand. Definitely, this money can be utilized for further betterment of such events. On the other hand, there is no doubt that monetization of sports can cause serious aftermaths. To illustrate, the famous brands that sponsor or pay the athletes, usually end up distracting from their games. it is also possible to say that, the bigger the amount of sponsorship, the more the players feel under pressure to win. Mostly, the sponsors target the winning teams to make them ambassadors. Thus, the focus of players diverts from dedicated playing towards financial gains which disturbs the purity of participating in sports. Having analyzed to topic carefully, I am of the opinion that marketing in sports and athletic endorsement for numerous products is a trend that is likely to continue but to avoid unfavourable outcomes of promotional events, the players must be taught to play indifferently to give optimum performance.