When designing a building, the most important factor is the intended use of the building rather than its outward appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a heated debate about whether the function of the building is the most significant factor in designing a house. To a certain extent I agree that practical function is more beneficial. However, we cannot ignore the value of aesthetic aspects. This essay will discuss both viewpoints. On the one hand, there is no denying the fact that practical function overrides the outward appearance in terms of architectural design including the heating and lighting systems. The main reason for this is that no one is interested in living in an inconvenient and uncomfortable house, though visually appealing. Besides, under the modern guidance of energy-saving, architects would focus on generating an ecological house that providing considerable benefits in the long term. For example, citizens using the house with a modern function such as automatic light can decrease the use of energy and protect the environment. On the other hand, appearance should be taken into consideration when it does not come in conflict with function, for beauty is always man's pursuit. A building of an individual's taste can provide a pleasant environment which is equally important for people feeling refreshed. Furthermore, a meaningful and unique architecture can become the landmark of a city or a country such as The Great Wall, Eiffel Tower which tell a story of its nation in a particular period or represent its spiritual values. In conclusion, I believe that the function of the building is the foundation of its appearance. Nevertheless, when the function is guaranteed, architects should take into the beauty account as well.