The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern,society transportation became one of the most essential needs. Therefore, the demand for owning a car grows immensely. With the growing number of cars, air pollution also increased to an intolerable level. As far as I am concerned regulations must be introduced to reduce the negative environmental effects of car use. First and foremost, there is plenty of other means to commute. During warmer seasons a bicycle or a scooter would not only improve one's physical health but also reduce the overall emissions of harmful gases. If there is a need for further trips, public transport is available. Such as buses or taxis, and metros as well. The electric sharing bikes are also nowadays promoted as an option for people to travelling around, and these measures are all responsible for low fossil fuel usage. Therefore, it is clear that there are various transportation methods, that should be encouraged due to the fact that they cause less pollution to the environment. Moreover, it is clear that some laws must be conducted on an international level. Rigid control of car ownership can minimize the negative impact on the ecology. A limitation of traffic in specific areas can contribute to reducing carbon dioxide emission. For instance, in China parking prices were increased in some build-up area by law. Consequently, there would be fewer cars on the road and people would opt out via other eco-friendly options of commuting. To conclude, high demand for cars lead to poor living surroundings. To reduce pollution, strict regulations must be introduced and, hopefully the whole society will choose economical ways of travelling.