When new towns are planned, it is important to build more public parks or sports facilities than shopping centers for people to spend their free time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

When planning a new town, the authorities should take various perspectives into consideration and need to prioritize the construction of various facilities. I think, to encourage an active lifestyle, it is more essential to invest in public parks and equipment rather than shopping centres. Admittedly, providing sports facilities in the parks is an effective way to improve city dwellers' health and thus reduce the government's budget for medical expense in the long term. As we can see, these parks are a good place for exercise, particularly for people who are not interested in competitive athletics. For example, in early mornings, we will observe many citizens practice jogging, dancing or practising Tai Chi in the public places due to having the convenient facilities as well as high greenery, so as to create a comfortable environment for city inhabitants. Therefore, we can have close contact with nature and make ourselves refreshed. Additionally, the main function of shopping centres is for people to buy various goods, but in today's world, when online shopping is becoming increasingly prevalent, the role of physical stores seem to be weakened. For instance, at the weekends, if we are tired after backbreaking periods of work, we can pick some products in e-shopping instead of going shopping because of the convenience and speed it offers. The large shopping centres also include some leisure equipment such as a cafe, cinema, however these are not as important as parks and sports centres. In conclusion, I believe that more emphasis should be placed on building a public playground and sports facilities for citizens.